How to unplug your child on vacation

Travel_electronics

Stopped for construction on a 2-lane highway in Oregon.

I’m fairly tolerant of my daughter’s electronic use at home. How could I not be since I am such a poor role model, always on my laptop or e-reader?!

When we’re on a trip, however, I’m appalled when she resorts to her phone or a game on her tablet. “You’re missing the best part!” I cry.

“Uh-huh.” She mumbles at me.

It doesn’t do much good for me to lecture her about it or just take away her electronics. So here is my method of unplugging my child on vacation:

1. Literally unplug the devices.

We pull the plug and physically put them away. This usually irritates her at first. I resist responding snappishly.

2. Replace the devices.

I can’t just take the device. I have to replace it with something. Fortunately, my daughter enjoys writing, drawing, playing cards, taking a walk and just sight-seeing.

On our trips we pack a drawing pad, pencils and markers as well as a notebook with lined paper.

We also have a list of favorite card games — Uno, Trash and War. (I like to think I am the reigning Uno queen! My daughter might disagree.)

Other times, we give each other a list of four characters (prince, queen, cowboy, witch, squirrel, unicorn, whatever). Then the other person has to make up a story on the spot about those characters. Some of our silliest times have come out of these story-telling sessions!

3. Be present. 

This is the most important part. Time to step up and be the parent. Tempting as it is to get my daughter engaged in a non-electronic activity and then hop on my laptop, I resist the urge and keep my attention on her (in a good way). I will talk with her about what she sees or join in whatever activity she has chosen.

Giving her my attention and enjoying her company sends a strong message about how much I love and value her. And that’s way better than her phone.

Leave a comment