The best (and free) Harry Potter activity in London!

Travel Harry potter

Are you off to Hogwarts School Of Witchcraft and Wizardry, miss?

“Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets” is on the telly tonight, and I’m feeling oh-so-British! In fact, I’m writing with a British accent in my head. (It’s probably not a good one, but there it is then.)

Actually, the film reminded me of a fun free activity during our London trip. My daughter, sister and I visited “Platform 9-3/4” at King’s Cross station and my daughter was able to pose for a picture.

As anyone who has read the Harry Potter series knows, Platform 9-3/4 at KIng’s Cross Railway Station is the one used by the wizarding students to board the Hogwarts Express, which takes them back to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.My daughter and I are big fans of Harry Potter. It took us nearly two years, snuggled up in her bed each night, to read the whole series together,

At King’s Cross, a sign and a trolley cart that appears to go halfway through the wall make an effective background for a picture. The folks from the Harry Potter Shop at the station will help you put on a scarf in your favorite house’s colors. (We picked Gryffindor, just like Harry, of course!) They’ll take a photo for you, but they also don’t mind if you take one yourself, which we did.

Apparently, lengthy lines and even a 45-minute wait for a turn are typical during the summer months. We went during spring break and didn’t face much of a line at all.

London is full of Harry Potter tours and activities, including a Warner Bros. behind-the-scenes studio tour, but the budget-friendly “Platform 9-3/4” picture really makes the best souvenir of all.

Cheers!

Leave a comment